Yukon Quest Welcomes New Additions to Alaska and Yukon Boards

Friday, June 3, 2016

Planning for the 2017 Yukon Quest 1,000 Mile International Sled Dog Race will benefit from some new energy and ideas, following the election of new board members at the Annual General Meetings.

The 2016 Alaska AGM was recently held in Fairbanks, and two new directors were elected, as well as a new musher representative. Ryan Hughes and Dr. Emily A Vaughan, MVB join President Bill McDonald, Vice-President Heike Fiedler-Phelps, Treasurer Susan McDonald, Secretary Nancy Flannery, and Director John Dixon on the board.

Hughes has volunteered as a member of the Yukon Quest logistics team for a number of years, and works for Mainscape which is also a race sponsor. His background in business, team building, and negotiations will be of great asset for the board.

Dr. Vaughan is a licensed veterinary practitioner in the State of Alaska and Ireland. Her experience working in the veterinary field will be of great benefit to the international scope of the Yukon Quest, as she works to promote and encourage education in all aspects of sled dog racing and the spirit of the race.

Yukon Quest finisher Andrew Pace will serve as the Musher Representative. Pace, who operates Hey Moose! Kennel with wife Kristin Knight Pace, finished 16th in the 2016 Yukon Quest.

At the Yukon AGM in Whitehorse, two new members were added to the board, and one member was re-elected. Sabine Morehouse was appointed Treasurer and Jamie Richardson will sit as a Director, while Briana Mackay returns as a Director after she stepped off to be the 2016 Assistant Race Manager.

Morehouse sat on three different boards as a Director and Treasurer, prior to joining the Yukon Quest. As a manager at a local bank, she brings experience in finances, and is well versed in public speaking and community involvement thanks to her background.

Richardson brings knowledge in public policy specialization, public and international affairs, and animal welfare services. She is looking to help expand community understanding and promotion of the Quest.

Morehouse and Richardson join President Michael Peterson, Vice-President Elisabeth Weigand, Secretary Judy Beaumont, and Directors Dylan Soo and Ingabritt Scholven on the board.

Yukon Quest finisher and 2015 Rookie of the Year Damon Tedford will once again serve as Musher Representative for the Yukon.

The Yukon Quest would like to thank out-going Alaska board member Joe Cox, and Yukon board member Harry Kern for their time on the board as well as Yukon board member Bev Regier, who will remain involved with the race by assisting in the Yukon office.