Seven new members elected to Yukon Quest boards

Friday, May 17, 2013

The Yukon Quest International Sled Dog Race chose its Yukon and Alaska board of directors for the 2014 race, and both boards will have a much different look.

Elections were held at Annual General Membership Meetings Thursday in Whitehorse and Fairbanks, respectively. Four new board members were elected for Yukon, with three re-elected. The Alaska board has three new members, with one re-elected.

New members on the Yukon board include: Rob Cooke, a finisher from the 2013 race who is well-known for his Siberian huskies; Barbara Ward, a volunteer for the YQ with experience in bookkeeping and accounting; and Lee Kirkpatrick, a lawyer who owns a kennel and previously sat on the board.

Dawson City musher Brian Wilmshurst, who finished the 2013 Yukon Quest, was appointed by the Finishers Club as the Yukon's Mushers' Representative on the board.

New members on the Alaska board are: Stephanie Knaebel, who brings a lot of experience with YQ race operations to the table – she was Assistant Executive Director for the 2011 race; Nicolle Hendricks, a physician assistant who volunteered for the Iditarod sled dog race for five years; and Judy Currier, a 4-time finisher of the Iditarod.

Brent Sass returns as the Alaska Mushers’ Representative.

Bill McDonald, a retired military officer, was re-elected to the Alaska board for a second term. Re-elected to the Yukon board were Bev Regier, Pamela Brown and Michael Pederson. All three are long-time YQ volunteers – Regier recently received the volunteer of the year award from the Tourism Industry Association of Yukon.

Joost van der Putten returns as President of the Yukon board while Rolf Schmitt remains Vice President, and Brown retains her role as Secretary. Ward will take over as Treasurer.

Officers for the Alaska board will be elected at the next regular board meeting, on June 12th.

The Yukon Quest would like to extend a huge thank you to out-going board members Becky Alexander, Julie Estey, Sue Sprinkle, Clarke La Prairie, Tamra Reynolds and Normand Casavant for all of their help, support and passion for our race!