Day 5: Dog (Yard) Days of Dawson

Wednesday, February 6, 2019

There were few vacancies in the Dawson dog yard today as most of the 2019 Yukon Quest mushers arrived at the halfway point of their 1,000 miles and began their 36-hour layover. Dog care, sleep, hot meals, and maybe a shower were the aim of all the competitors when asked about their plans for the break.

Jessie Royer and Cody Strathe were the first of the day, crossing the line six minutes apart shortly before 1 a.m. New Zealand musher Curt Perano arrived an hour later, followed by hometown boys Brian Wilmshurst and Jason Biasetti.

Another wave of arrivals between 7 a.m. and 10 a.m. began with Olivia Webster, and included Deke Naaktgeboren, Rob Cooke, Andy Pace, Dave Dalton, and Isabelle Travadon.

Misha Wiljes hit town shortly before 11:30am, signalling the next group of mushers into Dawson, with Jim Lanier an hour later, followed by Chase Tingle, Hendrik Stachnau and Laura Allaway four minutes apart, and Remy Leduc just before 7pm.

With all the arrival activity, one could almost be forgiven for forgetting there were also departures. An excited crowd was on hand to cheer current leader Brent Sass and team when they rejoined the trail at 11:24 p.m. Scarcely a half-hour later, an equally enthusiastic crowd urged a relaxed and smiling Michelle Phillips out in pursuit. Hans Gatt and defending champion Allen Moore are set to join them just after midnight, with several other frontrunners due to depart in the early hours.

At the back of the pack, Jimmy Lebling and Lisbet Norris are expected into Dawson tomorrow morning.

Standings as of 11:59pm:

  1. Brent Sass
  2. Michelle Phillips
  3. Hans Gatt
  4. Allen Moore
  5. Paige Drobny
  6. Denis Tremblay
  7. Matt Hall
  8. Ryne Olson
  9. Torsten Kohnert
  10. Nathaniel Hamlyn
  11. Martin Apayauq Reitan
  12. Jessie Royer
  13. Cody Strathe
  14. Curt Perano
  15. Brian Wilmshurst
  16. Jason Biasetti
  17. Olivia Webster
  18. Deke Naaktgeboren
  19. Rob Cooke
  20. Andy Pace
  21. Dave Dalton
  22. Isabelle Travadon
  23. Misha Wiljes
  24. Jim Lanier
  25. Chase Tingle
  26. Hendrik Stachnau
  27. Laura Allaway
  28. Remy Leduc
  29. Jimmy Lebling
  30. Lisbet Norris