Day 2: 101 to Central

Sunday, February 4, 2018

The Mile 101 and Central checkpoints were in full-on mush hour throughout the second day of the Yukon Quest 1,000 Mile International Sled Dog Race.

After serving his mandatory 4-hour layover, Allen Moore was the first musher to depart 101 and the first make it to Central, where he decided to blow through toward Circle after grabbing some gear from his drop bags.

Paige Drobny, Matt Hall, Laura Neese and Ed Hopkins departed 101 in short succession, and followed Moore’s lead in Central, opting to quickly grab gear and get back on the trail, Hopkins with a team of 13. Torsten Kohnert, meanwhile, served his mandatory 4-hour layover in Central and then was back on trail at 7:25PM.

Vebjorn Aishana Reitan was in Central only long enough to streamline his team to 13 dogs and take a very brief trip to his drop bags. Riley Dyche was next in and also chose to blow through. In doing so, Reitan and Dyche beat Hugh Neff and Katherine Keith out of the checkpoint, who each left Central with 12 dogs. Dyche’s trail partners into Central, Dave Dalton and Bernhard Schuchert decided to stick around to rest their teams.

Severin Cathry, Alex Buetow, and Rob Cooke arrived in succession, with Cathry following Ryne Olson and her team of 13 dogs out after his brief pause. Ike Underwood and Jennifer Campeau were the latest Central arrivals, and Nathaniel Hamlyn, Luc Tweddell (down to 12 dogs), and Tim Pappas are the latest to depart for Circle after a nice rest.

At the time of writing, Jason Campeau, Claudia Wickert, Ike Underwood, Alex Buetow, Rob Cooke, Dave Dalton, Bernhard Schuchert, and Jennifer Campeau remain at the Central Checkpoint, while at the back of the pack, Mark Stamm and Christine Roalofs are resting at Mile 101.  

Mike Ellis (Bib #18) scratched at Mile 101, citing the wellbeing of his team.

Standings as of 11:59pm:

  1. Allen Moore
  2. Matt Hall
  3. Paige Drobny
  4. Laura Neese
  5. Torsten Kohnert
  6. Ryne Olson
  7. Ed Hopkins
  8. Hugh Neff
  9. Katherine Keith
  10. Vebjorn Aishana Reitan
  11. Severin Cathry
  12. Riley Dyche
  13. Nathaniel Hamlyn
  14. Luc Tweddell
  15. Tim Pappas
  16. Jason Campeau
  17. Alex Buetow
  18. Claudia Wickert
  19. Bernhard Schuchert
  20. Dave Dalton
  21. Rob Cooke
  22. Ike Underwood
  23. Jennifer Campeau
  24. Christine Roalofs
  25. Mark Stamm